Playing with Paper.li

A few months ago, a paper.li tweet from a colleague showed up in my Twitter feed. Of course, I immediately set up a paper.li account of my own, put all of the Twitter accounts I follow into lists, and linked every single list as a content source of my paper.

Much to my disappointment, the result was a mash-up of information I didn’t care about. I played with it for another day or two, and then lost interest for a while. Then recently, one of my tweets made it into a friend’s paper.li. I checked it out again and liked the way she customized the paper to only a few topics. I drastically reduced the scope of my account, named the paper after this blog, and crossed my fingers.

Visit Communication Art

The results are a lot better than my first attempt — although I did go in and manually edit two of the top stories. And while most of the paper’s categories can be customized, I remain frustrated that I can’t delete the photo section (it seems the people I follow tweet odd and irrelevant photos).

It will be interesting to see how the paper.li tool will develop over time. The website itself notes that it’s still in its early stages of development. One of the criticisms about tools like paper.li is the lack of original content. However, I view it as another platform by which to distribute original content rather than as a means to dilute it.

Do you use paper.li? Add your comments to this post!

About Alana J. Mauger

A writer by both profession and passion, Alana J. Mauger has 15+ years of experience in the areas of journalism, corporate communications, social media, voice narration, and radio. Her non-writing interests include abstract art, music (the harder, the better), politics, ice hockey (go Flyers!) and many types of activism. Alana holds degrees in humanities, professional writing (undergraduate) and education (graduate) and is a vegan. Follow her on Twitter @alanajanelle. View all posts by Alana J. Mauger

One response to “Playing with Paper.li

  • Kelly Hungerford

    Hi Alana,

    I saw your post on Google+. Thanks for posting about Paper.li and for giving us a second look! It sounds like you might not have stumbled across the delete button for images yet.

    There is a delete button below the image in the right hand corner. Click that and you can delete.

    If you need any assistance, contact us at support and the team will help you out.

    Good publishing!
    Kelly ( Community Manager, Paper.li)

Leave a Reply

